MCPS and Westland MS Instrumental Music Calendar

2010-2011                     

2010

Event

Location

Time

Application Due

 

 

 

 

 

Sept. 28, Tues.

Music Booster Meeting

Band Room

6:30 PM

N/A

Oct 4, Mon.

MCPS Honors Jazz Auditions

Frost MS

4:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Sept. 22, 2010

Nov. 9, Tues.

MCPS Jr. Honors Band & Orch. Auditions

Rockville HS

6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Oct. 12, 2010

Nov. 13, Sat.

Jr. All-State Auditions

See MMEA Handbook

TBA

MMEA Oct. 1, 2010

Dec. 21, Tues.

Winter Concert

All Students

Westland Gym

7:00 PM

N/A

2011

 

 

 

 

Jan. 4, 11, 18, 25, and Feb. 1, 2011

All-County Honors Band and Orchestra Rehearsals

Jr. Band-TBA

Jr. Orch. TBA

Sr. Band Magurder HS

Sr.  Orch. Walter Johnson HS

6th grade groups -TBA

6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Student Contracts and fees due Dec. 10, 2010 for Jr. & Sr. members.

Jan. 4, 2011 for 6th gr. members

Feb. 4, Fri., 2011

Jr. & Sr. Honors Bands and Orchestras Dress Rehearsals and Dinner

BCC HS

4:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

NA

Feb. 5, Sat., 2011

Honors Bands & Orchestras Gala Concert

BCC HS

6:30 p.m.

NA

Feb. 8, Tues., 2011

6th Gr. Honors Bands & Orchestra Gala Concerts

North TBA, Central - TBA

South TBA

7:30 p.m.

NA

Feb. 25-27, 2011

All-State Jr., Sr. Band, Sr. Orchestra

Hunt Valley

TBA

NA

March 4, 2011 Fri.

District II Ensemble Festival

Wootton HS

4:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Feb. 4, 2011

March 5, 2011 Sat.

District II Solo Festival

Wootton HS

9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Feb. 4, 2011

March 11-13, 2011

All-State Jr. Orchestra

Frederick, MD

TBA

NA

March 29, 2011 Tues.

District II MS Band Festival

TBA

8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

March 4, 2011

March 30, 2011 Wed.

District II MS Orchestra Festival

Gaithersburg HS (tentative)

8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

March 4, 2011

April 5, 2011 Tues.

District II MS Band Festival

TBA

8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

 

 

March 4, 2011

April 6, 2011 Wed.

District II MS Orchestra Festival

TBA

8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

March 4, 2011

April 12, Tues.

MCPS Second Bands Festival

TBA

8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

March 17, 2011

 

 

May 7, Sat., 2011

MODA State Solo & Ensemble Festival

 

TBA

TBA

TBA

May 14, Sat., 2011

MBDA State Solo & Ensemble Festival

TBA

TBA

TBA

May 27, Fri.

Tentative Spring Trip

Hershey Park Pa

6:00 AM to Midnight

TBA

June 1, Wed.

Spring Concert for 7th and 8th Grades

BCC

7:00 PM

N/A